[{"ID":758,"post_content":"Many Huguenots lived by the sea or in trading towns. Their overseas contacts from old ties meant they could trade with their families and friends back on the continent.\r\n\r\nOne of the first references we have to the Albert family is Pierre Albert. Pierre was a wine merchant who came across to England to escape persecution.\r\n\r\nHe was clearly wealthy and contributed \u00a37000 to the New East India loan of 1698 (part of an act which allowed trade with the East Indies). Despite fleeing to England Pierre kept his ties with France and continued to trade with his family in Bordeaux.\r\n\r\nJacob, another of the Albert family, became Deputy Governor and Treasurer of the French Hospital. He was first elected in 1756 and his coat of arms can be seen here.","post_title":"Albert","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"albert","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:09:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:09:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Merchants and traders","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacob-Albert.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacob-Albert-267x300.jpg"},{"ID":759,"post_content":"The Andr\u00e9's were a distinguished military family who served the French Hospital throughout the late 18th and early 19th centuries.\r\n\r\nThe image here shows Mary Louisa Andr\u00e9, daughter of Jaques-Pierre Andr\u00e9 (Director of the French Hospital, 1814) and wife of Richard Grellier<\/strong><\/a> (Secretary of the French Hospital, 1856).\r\n\r\nThe most famous member of the Andr\u00e9 family was Major John Andr\u00e9 (1751-1780), Adjutant-General to Sir Henry Clinton.\u00a0John joined the British Army in America during the American Revolution.\r\n\r\nAfter a surprise attack he was forced to hide and disguise himself as a civilian. However, John was captured by American militia and compromising papers were found in his boots. He was accused of being a spy and George Washington sentenced John Andr\u00e9 to execution by hanging.\r\n\r\nJohn was executed on 2nd\u00a0October 1780","post_title":"Andr\u00e9","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"andre","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:53:10","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:53:10","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.166-Louisa-Grellier-nee-Andre-2.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.166-Louisa-Grellier-nee-Andre-2-246x300.jpg"},{"ID":760,"post_content":"The Aufr\u00e8re family originally came from Poitou in France. They took refuge in Holland before Israel Antoine Aufr\u00e8re came to London where he served as Chaplain to William III. Israel was also minister to the French congregation at the Savoy Chapel and was elected Director of the French Hospital in 1725. A number of silver communion cups and patens by Huguenot goldsmith Louis Cuny which are now in the French Hospital Collection were used by Israel\u2019s congregation.\r\n\r\nIsrael\u2019s youngest son, George, worked as a linen draper and is recorded as supplying the Countess of Exeter with muslin in the 1740s. In 1746 he married her niece, Arabella and was later elected MP for Stamford. George collected a number of Old Master paintings which he kept at his home, Walpole House. George and Arabella\u2019s daughter, Sophia, married the 1st\u00a0Earl of Yarborough in 1770.","post_title":"Aufr\u00e8re","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"aufrere","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:58:58","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:58:58","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/mw35120.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/mw35120-214x300.jpg"},{"ID":761,"post_content":"Ren\u00e9 Baudouin was a Huguenot refugee from Tours in France. He established himself in Lombard Street, London, with a silk merchant Etienne Seignoret. The pair were successful but they were fined for continuing to trade with France during the Anglo-French war (1689-1697).\r\n\r\nAnother Baudouin, Jacques, was a successful merchant. He gave \u00a3100 to the original appeal to create the French Hospital and was elected Director in 1718. He went on to become Deputy Governor and Secretary.\r\n\r\nChristopher Baudouin (c. 1665- 1735) was one of the best known members of the family. He lived in Paternoster Row, Spitalfields and was a celebrated silk designer. Christopher supplied designs for the weavers Landson, Monceaux and Marescoe. He was possibly the best known designer of his generation.","post_title":"Baudouin","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"baudouin","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:09:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:09:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Merchants and traders, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacques-Baudouin.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacques-Baudouin-253x300.jpg"},{"ID":1089,"post_content":"A visitor to the Huguenot Museum recorded that his grandmother was descended from the Huguenots. Her family name was Bave. Samuel Bave was Mayor of Bath in the 17th<\/sup>\/18th<\/sup> century. They have managed to trace the family back to the 1490s in Cologne, Germany.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Bave","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"bave","post_modified":"2015-07-23 14:01:42","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 14:01:42","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":762,"post_content":"William Beckett was a senior Civil Engineer in the late 19th century. He worked on behalf of the Indian Government constructing the first railway bridges on the East Coast extension of the Bengal to Nagpur railway. In 1901, William was awarded the Gold Medal from the Institution of Civil Engineers for a paper on the subject.\r\n\r\nWilliam\u2019s son, Clifford, was an officer in the British Army and a Director of the French Hospital. Clifford was educated at the Tonbridge School before entering the Royal Artillery. He served in the First World War where he received the Military Cross for his actions. In the Second World War he rose to the rank of Major-General in Malta. In recognition of his actions Clifford was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire.\r\n\r\nClifford was instrumental in the sale and movement of the French Hospital to Compton Lea in Sussex. He had proposed that the Hospital needed to be \u2018within easy reach of London\u2019 and that it would need to \u2018cater for a different kind of resident\u2019.\r\n\r\nWilliam\u2019s younger brother was Captain Walter Napier Thomason Beckett of the Royal Navy.","post_title":"Beckett","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"beckett","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:53:10","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:53:10","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Clifford-Thomason-Beckett-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Clifford-Thomason-Beckett-small-261x300.jpg"},{"ID":763,"post_content":"Thomas Bevault was a first generation Huguenot goldsmith. He registered his maker\u2019s mark in 1712 when he was living in Foster Lane, London, next door to the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths.\r\n\r\nThe sugar castors shown here were made by Thomas and used at the French Hospital. They are on display in the Museum.","post_title":"Bevault","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"bevault","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:02:44","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:02:44","categories":"Gold and Silversmithing","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.246-Silver-sugar-castors-Thomas-Bevault.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.246-Silver-sugar-castors-Thomas-Bevault-251x300.jpg"},{"ID":764,"post_content":"The Blagny family were directors of the French Hospital in the 18th century. Jacob de La Motte de Blagny and Jacques Baudouin<\/strong><\/a> were amongst the members of the French Committee who looked after the Cripplegate pest-house in London.\r\n\r\nThe pest-house was the forerunner to the French Hospital and reflected the Huguenot tradition of self-help.\r\n\r\nHis coat of arms are shown here.","post_title":"Blagny","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"blagny","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacob-de-Blagny-small-rotated.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jacob-de-Blagny-small-267x300.jpg"},{"ID":772,"post_content":"The Bosanquet family were an important Huguenot family. David Bosanquet was a director of the London Assurance (1729-44), three other members of the family (Samuel, William and Richard) became directors of the Royal Exchange Assurance in the late 18th century and Jacob and Charles Bosanquet were members of Lloyds Insurance during the Napoleonic wars.\r\n\r\nDavid Bosanquet, who had served as a deacon, came to England from Lunel in the south of France. He presented the French Protestant Church in Soho with 8 silver communion cups.\r\n\r\nClaude Bosanquet also helped the French church and was the main benefactor of the \u00c8glise Neuve in Church Street, Spitalfields.\r\n\r\nMary Bosanquet was one of the most prominent early Methodist women. She married the Methodist leader John Fletcher (Jean de la Fl\u00e9ch\u00e8re).\r\n\r\nAnother member of the family was BJT Bosanquet who was famous for contributing to the game of cricket by inventing googly bowling.","post_title":"Bosanquet","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"bosanquet","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:58:00","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:58:00","categories":"Banking and Finance, Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jean-Bosanquet-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jean-Bosanquet-small-267x300.jpg"},{"ID":774,"post_content":"Arthur Giraud Browning (1835-1907) was a civil engineer who was elected director of the French Hospital in 1873, served as Secretary in 1875 and Deputy-Governor in 1898. Browning was also a governor of the French Protestant School in Westminster.\r\n\r\nIn 1876 Browning appealed to fellow directors to donate books and artefacts about Huguenots and their history.\r\n\r\nOn 21st May 1885 Browning arranged a dinner at the Criterion restaurant in London. At this dinner Browning proposed the formation of the Huguenot Society of London.\u00a0<\/strong>","post_title":"Browning","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"browning","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:08:46","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:08:46","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Education","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.173-Arthur-Giraud-Browning.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.173-Arthur-Giraud-Browning-271x300.jpg"},{"ID":776,"post_content":"The Buissiere family were directors of the French Hospital in the 18th century. Paul Buissiere (director and Governor of the French Hospital) came to England where he was naturalised in 1688. A surgeon and anatomical writer, he built a reputation as a skilled practitioner in London, even attending to Queen Caroline of Ansbach.\r\n\r\nPaul was one of the first to introduce lectures on anatomy and physiology in England and became a respected member of the Royal Society in 1700.\r\n\r\nPaul\u2019s niece, Constance Buissiere, was a resident (inmate) of the French Hospital from 1742-1746. She was one of the grandest residents and when she died left her extremely valuable contents to one of the hospital servants, Marie Latour. Marie had provided nursing care for Constance and had also served as a nurse at the Foundling Hospital.","post_title":"Buissiere","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"buissiere","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:04:41","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:04:41","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Medicine","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Paul-Buissiere-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Paul-Buissiere-small-262x300.jpg"},{"ID":778,"post_content":"We know little about the Butterworth family except that Joshua (or Josiah) Whitehead Butterworth was a director of the French Hospital in 1875.\r\n\r\nA photograph of Joshua remains in the French Hospital Collection and is shown here.","post_title":"Butterworth","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"butterworth","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Joshua-Butterworth-728x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Joshua-Butterworth-213x300.jpg"},{"ID":780,"post_content":"The Cabrier family were a celebrated dynasty of Huguenot clockmakers who settled in London. Three generations of Charles Cabriers became well known for their beautiful clocks.\r\n\r\nThe clock shown was made by Charles Cabrier (II). He became master of the Clockmakers\u2019 Company in 1757. Charles worked out of 79 Broad Street London and rose from apprentice clockmaker in 1719 to Master of the London Clockmakers\u2019 Company in 1757.","post_title":"Cabrier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"cabrier","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:03:49","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:03:49","categories":"Clock and Watchmaking","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.011-Charles-Cabrier-clock-724x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.011-Charles-Cabrier-clock-212x300.jpg"},{"ID":782,"post_content":"Jean Calas, a linen merchant, was accused of his son\u2019s murder and condemned to death during the 1760s. Marc-Antoine, his son, had in-fact committed suicide having been unable to pursue his career in France because he was a protestant. Jean had claimed his son had been murdered to protect his family\u2019s reputation.\r\n\r\nJean Calas was tortured, but he refused to abjure his protestant faith and was put to death. On his death his daughters were sent to convents and Donat, Jean\u2019s youngest son fled to Geneva. Here Donat persuaded Voltaire to take up the cause and clear his family\u2019s name.\r\n\r\nTheir cause was well supported in England where Jean\u2019s wife Anne-Rose was from. Anne-Rose was the daughter of another Huguenot family, the Cabibel\u2019s from Languedoc and had been born and raised in Spitalfields.\r\n\r\nPaul Vaillant<\/strong><\/a>, the printer, sold copies of the engravings along with the story in order to raise funds for the Calas family.\r\n\r\nIn March 1765 Voltaire successfully cleared Jean Calas\u2019 name.","post_title":"Calas","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"calas","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:58:58","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:58:58","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-The-Unfortunate-Calas-Family-1024x705.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-The-Unfortunate-Calas-Family-300x207.jpg"},{"ID":1104,"post_content":"The Cazenove family can trace their routes back to Bas-Languedoc in the late 12th, early 13th century. In 1685 the Cazenove family, like many other Huguenot families, escaped France. Pierre Cazenove, his bother Charles and their sisters Marie and Madeleine fed to Geneva. 20 years later their brother Jean-Pierre followed.\r\n\r\nPierre soon became involved in banking and built up substantial business. He died on 20 December 1733, a rich man. Pierre's youngest son David was sent to Amsterdam from where he went on to England. It is David who is believed to have been the founder of the English branch of the Cazenove family. David's eldest son, James, became a merchant in 1775 in St Martins Lane where he worked in partnership with his brother Charles Henry and two other Huguenots, Bourdillon and Reliet. They worked in banking and trading and were the start of a long dynasty of Cazenove's working in the banking trade which continues to this day.\r\n\r\n ","post_title":"Cazenove","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"cazenove","post_modified":"2015-07-25 13:03:07","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-25 13:03:07","categories":"Banking and Finance","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":784,"post_content":"The Chamier family sought refuge in England after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes. Daniel Chamier, a minister, came to London. His grandson Anthony Chamier with Jean Chamier were both elected directors of the French Hospital in the 1780s.\r\n\r\nAnthony initially worked on the stock exchange, but later became Deputy Secretary at War (1772), Under Secretary of State (1775) and MP for Tamworth (1778). He was also a close friend of Dr Johnson and the artist Sir Joshua Reynolds. Anthony even sat for Reynolds three times.\r\n\r\nAnother Chamier, George, became an author.\r\n\r\nIt is believed that one of the Chamier ancestors helped to draft the Edict of Nantes for Henry IV.","post_title":"Chamier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"chamier","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:58:00","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:58:00","categories":"Banking and Finance, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Anthony-Chamier.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Anthony-Chamier-276x300.jpg"},{"ID":786,"post_content":"One of the first of the family to arrive in England was Claude Champion\u00a0de Crespigny who arrived with his wife, the Comtesse de Vierville, and their eight children. The family fled to England following the Revocation from Normandy. Claude was a military leader and once in England became a Colonel under Marlborough.\r\n\r\nPeter (Pierre), Claude\u2019s son, became a free denizen of England in 1690 and was naturalized in 1706. He became a founding director of the French Hospital in 1718. Thomas followed in his father's military footsteps and became a Captain in Sir Charles Hotham's Regiment of \u00a0Dragoons and their brother Gabriel became a Captain in the Regiment of the Footguards.\r\n\r\nClaude (1706-1782), Thomas' son, was made director of the French Hospital in 1760, but worked for the office of the South Sea Company. His brother Phillippe (1704-1765) also became a director of the Hospital at the age of 30 and secretary of the French Hospital in 1737. We also know that Philippe lived in Champion Lodge, Camberwell.\r\n\r\nPhillippe's son Claude (b 1734) became a Baronet in 1805 but it was his younger son, Philip, from whom all the current male Champion de Crespigny's are descended from.\r\n\r\nThe de Crespigny\u2019s have continued to serve the French Hospital through to the 21st Century.","post_title":"Champion de Crespigny","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"champion-de-crespigny","post_modified":"2015-08-01 12:13:56","post_modified_gmt":"2015-08-01 12:13:56","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Pierre-Champion-de-Crespigny.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Pierre-Champion-de-Crespigny-253x300.jpg"},{"ID":788,"post_content":"We cannot be sure if the sketch shown shows the Reverend Louis de la Chaumette but we do know such a Reverend existed. He was probably the child of Jean de la Chaumette and Suzzane Reynaud and was minister of the L\u2019Eglise au Carr\u00e9 in Spitalfields (1760) and the French Church (1762).\r\n\r\nIt appears Louis lived at No. 20 Fournier Street, Spitalfields. The same record states that he was minister of the Threadneedle Street Church and the Fournier Street Church.\r\n\r\nAnother Chaumette appears in the parish church of Tottenham. Here, Pew No. 2 was given in March 1821 for Louis Andrew de la Chaumette \u2018to sit, stand, and kneel, to hear divine service and sermons therein so long as they, any, or either of them, or their families, shall continue parishioners and inhabitants of the said parish of Tottenham, exclusive of all others\u2019","post_title":"Chaumette","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"chaumette","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:40:40","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:40:40","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Lewis-Andrew-de-la-Chaumette-JPEG-750x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Lewis-Andrew-de-la-Chaumette-JPEG-220x300.jpg"},{"ID":790,"post_content":"The Chenevix family, from Picardy, arrived in England around 1682. Philip Chenevix became a Major\u00a0with the 2nd<\/sup> Carabineers where he fought in the famous battle of Blenheim (1704). Philip died in the battle but his son Paul Daniel Chenevix continued the family name.\r\n\r\nThe first records we have of Paul is of his shop in Suffolk Street, London 1731. From this shop, at the Sign of the Golden Door, we know he sold a pair of silver buckles.\r\n\r\nIn 1729 his premises moved to Pall Mall where Paul continued to sell high end goods \u2013 selling Earl Fitzwalter \u2018a long gold head for a cane\u2019 at the cost of \u00a36, 11s.\r\n\r\nAfter Paul\u2019s death (1740s) his wife continued to run the shop and remarried Peter Russel, a \u2018toyman\u2019. Together they ran the shop selling expensive trinkets and it became known as the \u2018toyshop\u2019, Mrs Chenevix earning herself the reputation of \u2018toy-woman \u00e0 la mode\u2019.","post_title":"Chenevix","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"chenevix","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:37:28","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:37:28","categories":"Gold and Silversmithing, Merchants and traders, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/edii_rsdg_pcf2_large.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/edii_rsdg_pcf2_large-252x300.jpg"},{"ID":791,"post_content":"The Claude family fled to The Hague following the Revocation. Jean Claude (1619-1687) wrote a book in protest against the persecution of the Huguenots.\r\n\r\nJean\u2019s father was a French pastor and Jean followed in his footsteps, studying for the ministry at Montauban, was ordained in 1645 and then went on to work at at N\u00eemes, Montauban, and Charenton before being expelled from Paris.","post_title":"Claude","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"claude","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:34:25","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:34:25","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.3761-773x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.3761-226x300.jpg"},{"ID":793,"post_content":"Antoine Clerembault (or Clerimbault) who is pictured here was elected director of the French Hospital in 1723.\r\n\r\nWe have little else in our records on him, except that he had a pew at the French Church, Threadneedle Street. Another Clerembault, Jean, was also elected a director of the French Hospital in 1767.","post_title":"Clerembault","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"clerembault","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:24","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.008-Antoine-Clerembault-2.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.008-Antoine-Clerembault-2-243x300.jpg"},{"ID":795,"post_content":"Louis de Clouseaux was elected a director of the French Hospital in 1718. These are his coat of arms.","post_title":"Clouseaux","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"clouseaux","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Louis-de-Clouseaux-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Louis-de-Clouseaux-small-260x300.jpg"},{"ID":797,"post_content":"The Coligny brothers lived during the 16th century.\r\n\r\nGaspard de Coligny commanded the armies of France before he became a Huguenot. After this point he led the Protestant campaigns during the Second War of Religion (1567-1570). Gaspard was largely responsible for securing the Treaty of St Germain (1570). This treaty gave the Huguenots freedom to worship at the right to garrison La Rochelle, Montauban, Cognac and La Cit\u00e9.\r\n\r\nTwo years after this victory Gaspard was assassinated, just days before the Massacre of St Bartholomew.\r\n\r\nOdet was the older Coligny brother. Before becoming a Huguenot, Odet was Cardinal de Ch\u00e2tillon and Bishop of Beauvais (1551-1571). He abandoned his post of bishop and took refuge in England.","post_title":"Coligny","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"coligny","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:33:07","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:33:07","categories":"Churches, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/ntiv_knle_129731_large.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/ntiv_knle_129731_large-210x300.jpg"},{"ID":1095,"post_content":"A visitor to the Huguenot Museum noted that his family are direct descendent of the Crucefix family (father and son) who fled Dieppe in 1687 and moved to Spitalfields as clockmakers.\r\n\r\nThe family still have one of their clocks alongside a family tree back to 1687.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Crucefix","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"crucefix","post_modified":"2015-07-23 15:03:35","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 15:03:35","categories":"Clock and Watchmaking","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":799,"post_content":"Louis Cuny was a Huguenot goldsmith who was naturalised in 1697. He had his first makers mark by 1st December 1703 and was elected into the Livery in October 1708.\r\n\r\nWe know that Louis lived in Panton Street, Leicester Fields, London. He made a number of fine pieces, some of which are now in our collection.\r\n\r\nLouis\u2019 death was recorded as 14th\u00a0December 1733 in the \u2018Gentleman\u2019s Magazine\u2019.","post_title":"Cuny","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"cuny","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:02:44","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:02:44","categories":"Gold and Silversmithing","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Communion-set-by-Lewis-Cuny.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Communion-set-by-Lewis-Cuny-300x240.jpg"},{"ID":801,"post_content":"The Daubuz family came to England at the revocation of the Edict of Nantes (1685). Julia Daubuz and her family fled the Guienne Province in France in order to have religious freedom in England.\r\n\r\nOne of Julia\u2019s children, Charles Daubuz became a minister and a writer. He was admitted to Queen\u2019s College, Cambridge in 1689 where he went on to become librarian of the college and later head-master of Sheffield Grammar School.\r\n\r\nIn 1699 Charles became vicar of Brotherton and he had eight children. He died in 1717.\r\n\r\nThe bookplate shown here belonged to Jean Th\u00e9ophile Daubuz who was elected director of the French Hospital in 1794.","post_title":"Daubuz","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"daubuz","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-John-Theophilus-Daubuz.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-John-Theophilus-Daubuz-198x300.jpg"},{"ID":803,"post_content":"The Daud\u00e9\u2019s came from Maruejols. Pierre (1653-1733) was educated at Saumur and Geneva before arriving in England in 1680.\r\n\r\nPierre was one of the many Huguenots who went on to become teachers for English families. Pierre became a tutor for the Trevor family.","post_title":"Daud\u00e9","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"daude","post_modified":"2015-04-24 11:08:46","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 11:08:46","categories":"Education","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.136-Pierre-Daud\u00c7.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.136-Pierre-Daud\u00c7-226x300.jpg"},{"ID":805,"post_content":"Lieutenant General Louis de Jean (1706-1764) was one of the great Huguenot military leaders.\r\n\r\nIn 1752 Louis became a Colonel in the 14th Light Dragoons and in the 6th Dragoon Guards in 1757. He was also appointed second in command to General Wade during the campaign in the Scottish Highlands.\r\n\r\nEventually settling in Dublin, Louis had married Louisa, a burgess of Geneva and had also been elected a director of the French Hospital in 1740. Friends with another Huguenot military leader,\u00a0Sir John Ligonier<\/strong><\/a>, Louis proposed him as another director of the French Hospital.","post_title":"De Jean","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"de-jean","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:30:08","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:30:08","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.057-Louis-de-Jean.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.057-Louis-de-Jean-251x300.jpg"},{"ID":1092,"post_content":"The Delivett family can be traced back to 1745 with Jaques Delivett who was born in Caen, Normandy. He married Madelaine and was a tin man. In 1768 Jaques James Delivett was born in London and married an Elizabeth Wicks.\r\n\r\nIn 1800 a Thomas H Delivett was baptised at St Botolph, Bishopsgate and he married Ann Smith.\r\n\r\nIn 1835 Ann Delivett was born in Spitalfields and she was the Great Great Grandmother of one of our museum visitors.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Delivett","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"delivett","post_modified":"2015-07-23 14:40:59","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 14:40:59","categories":"","image":null,"thumbnail":null},{"ID":807,"post_content":"The image here shows the coat of arms of Claude Desmarets. Claude was elected director of the French Hospital and in 1732, Deputy Governor. On 26th<\/sup> October 1742 Claude, with his colleagues Guinand and Marchant, completed an inventory of contents of the Hospital.\r\n\r\nThe inventory is a hugely important historical document as it gives key information about the \u2018inmates\u2019 of the French Hospital in the 18th\u00a0century.\r\n\r\nOne of Claude\u2019s descendants, Fran\u00e7ois Desmarets, was also elected director of the French Hospital in 1760.","post_title":"Desmarets","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"desmarets","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Claude-Desmarets-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Claude-Desmarets-small-262x300.jpg"},{"ID":809,"post_content":"The Devisme, or Visme, family claim descent from the 8th century Sovereign Counts of Ponthieu. The family escaped to England following the revocation, but the French Government continued to use the title \u2018Comte de Visme\u2019.\r\n\r\nA number of the Devisme men became directors of the French Hospital. Pierre was elected in 1765, Gerard in 1788 and Guillaume in 1780.","post_title":"Devisme","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"devisme","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Gerard-Devisme.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Gerard-Devisme-207x300.jpg"},{"ID":811,"post_content":"Charles Isaac Mungo Dibdin (1768-1833), also known as Charles Pitt or Charles Dibdin the younger was an English dramatist, composer, writer and theatre owner. Charles wrote a number of pantomimes and \u2018farces\u2019 but is perhaps best known as owner and manager of the Sadler\u2019s Wells Theatre.\r\n\r\nCharles was the illegitimate son of Charles Dibdin and Harriet Pitt, a dancer at Covent Garden. He was also godson of the actor David Garrick and his elder brother, Thomas John Dibdin was also an actor.\r\n\r\nAnother descendent Sir Robert William Dibdin became a president of the Law Society. He was eldest son of the Reverend Robert Dibdin and had become a solicitor (1871), Mayor of Holborn, honorary freeman and an alderman. In 1882 Robert married Eugienie Emilie Schwartz-Trub and together they had three sons and four daughters. Sir Robert was a director and secretary of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Dibdin","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"dibdin","post_modified":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 10:49:23","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Robert-William-Dibdin.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Robert-William-Dibdin-206x300.jpg"},{"ID":813,"post_content":"The Dollond family fled from Normandy at the Revocation. John Dollond set up as a silk weaver in Spitalfields where he also studied mathematics and astronomy. John bought a small optical workshop for his son, Peter, in Vine Street, Spitalfields (1750). Two years later John joined his son at the workshop. Here John experimented on achromatic lenses, for which he was awarded the Copley medal.\r\n\r\nPeter developed his own improvements to optical instruments and became known as \u2018the father of practical optics\u2019. In 1766 Peter moved to larger premises at 59 St Paul\u2019s Churchyard. Here he started selling telescopes and portable instruments needed for the Napoleonic wars. Peter was made a director of the French Hospital in 1794 and retired aged 85 in 1819. Further descendants were also made directors of the Hospital.\r\n\r\nDollond and Co. merged with Aitchison and Co. in 1927 to form Dollond and Aitchison.","post_title":"Dollond","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"dollond","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:44:59","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:44:59","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Optics, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-John-Dollond.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-John-Dollond-240x300.jpg"},{"ID":815,"post_content":"Thomas Du Bisson was responsible for extensions to the original French Hospital. This included better accommodation for the mentally ill, transforming their small cells (\u2018les petites maisons\u2019) and adding two \u2018warming rooms\u2019. The cost of the extension was less than expected so Thomas gifted the extra money back to the Hospital.\r\n\r\nThomas had also been clerk of works at Winchester Palace, Stanmer Park and may have worked with Dubois on the houses of Hanover Square. Thomas was made a director of the French Hospital in 1731 and his descendent Jean was made director in 1775.","post_title":"Du Bisson","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"du-bisson","post_modified":"2015-08-01 11:58:47","post_modified_gmt":"2015-08-01 11:58:47","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-William-Sanxay-907x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-William-Sanxay-266x300.jpg"},{"ID":817,"post_content":"Paul Dufour and his wife Madeleine (n\u00e9e Mariette) received naturalisation in England in 1688. They became members of the French Church, Threadneedle Street in 1699. In 1718 Paul was made a director of the French Hospital and later became treasurer.\r\n\r\nMadeleine had a large fortune from a previous marriage and when she died (1734) left the money to Paul. In 1739 Paul made this inheritance over to the French Hospital, donating a total of \u00a315,400. This money provided much needed funds for the Hospital as they faced one of the most severe winters for years.","post_title":"Du Four","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"du-four","post_modified":"2015-04-27 11:59:22","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 11:59:22","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Paul-Du-Four-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Paul-Du-Four-small-241x300.jpg"},{"ID":1087,"post_content":"A visitor to the Huguenot Museum recorded that one of her ancestors was Claudius Andre Duchesne who came to England in 1693. He was famous in Paris as a clockmaker and a mantel clock by Duchesne is now in the British Museum.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Duchesne","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"duchesne","post_modified":"2015-07-23 13:53:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 13:53:43","categories":"Clock and Watchmaking","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":1097,"post_content":"The Ducro family arrived in England from Montpellier around 1693 when they settled in Spitalfields (the family appears in the denization list of 16th<\/sup> April 1693). Elizabeth Ducro married Francis Read who in turn was related to Thomas Read. Thomas was married to Frederica Ann Joy who was niece to Sarah Burton.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Ducro","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"ducro","post_modified":"2015-07-23 15:15:12","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 15:15:12","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":1103,"post_content":"Dupen\r\n\r\nThe Dupen family lived in Shoreditch where they were weavers. They lived at \u201cThe old Nichol\u201d. The name has been recorded as both Du Pen and Dupen.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Dupen","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"dupen","post_modified":"2015-07-25 10:47:06","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-25 10:47:06","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":819,"post_content":"The Dupont family arrived in England by way of Philip Dupont, a Huguenot minister who fled following the Revocation. After arriving he was ordained into the Anglican faith and in 1686 granted naturalisation.\r\n\r\nPhilip, his grandson, was a carpenter who married Sarah Gainsborough. Sarah was the sister of the famous painter Thomas Gainsborough. Their son, Gainsborough Dupont (1754-1797), was apprenticed to Thomas and became an artist in his own right.\r\n\r\nJohn, another of Philip\u2019s grandsons, was apprenticed as a barber. He settled in Bures St Mary and married a local girl Susan Causton.\r\n\r\nA later Dupont, Alfred, came to London in 1887 having completed an apprenticeship in drapery. He set up a shop in Islington which was based on credit purchase so the less well-off could afford to buy his goods. The business flourished and by the 1950s more than 70 branches of \u2018Dupont Brothers\u2019 existed. It survived until the 1980s when it was bought out.\r\n\r\nOne of Alfred\u2019s sons, Clifford, emigrated to Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) where he was made the first president of the new Republic of Rhodesia in 1970.","post_title":"Dupont","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"dupont","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:00:24","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:00:24","categories":"Artists, Churches, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.083-unidentified-man-thought-Gainsborough-Dupont-3.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.083-unidentified-man-thought-Gainsborough-Dupont-3-227x300.jpg"},{"ID":821,"post_content":"Fran\u00e7ois Duroure (1660-1722) arrived in England in 1689 and was naturalised in 1699. Once in England he was commissioned into the British Army, a career into which his two sons Scipio and Alexandre followed. Fran\u00e7ois was made a director of the French Hospital in 1764 and went on to become secretary and Deputy Governor. A wax image of him was created by Gosset<\/a>. <\/span><\/strong>\r\n\r\nIn 1713 Scipio married Marguerite de Vignoles tying together two Huguenot families. His son, Francis was a London solicitor who was director, secretary and Deputy Governor of the French Hospital. Francis\u2019s son Colonel John (Jean) Duroure was also a director.","post_title":"Duroure","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"duroure","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:28:14","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:28:14","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.072-Francois-Duroure.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.072-Francois-Duroure-217x300.jpg"},{"ID":823,"post_content":"The Duthoit family were a silk weaving family originating from Marq-en-Bareul, near Lille. According to family tradition they moved to Canterbury in 1614 where a branch of the family remained throughout the 18th century.\r\n\r\nBy the 1710s some of the Duthoits had moved to Spitalfields. James Duthoit became part of the Livery of the Weavers\u2019 Company in the 1730s. From 1736 onwards he lived in Princes Street (today Princelet St) and in later years he went into partnership with his son James.\r\n\r\nPeter Duthoit was also part of the Weaver\u2019s Company from 1716. He had a business in Brick Lane but later moved to Wood Street - a more highly rated location. His son, Peter, went into partnership with his father and is noted in 1763 as a \u2018weaver of black silk\u2019 for mourning clothing. The Duthoit family remained in the weaving business until the late 19th century.\r\n\r\nJonathan, a later Duthoit, was elected a director of the French Hospital in 1873.","post_title":"Duthoit","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"duthoit","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:26:41","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:26:41","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/8.-Jonathan-Duthoit-1803-85-rotated.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/8.-Jonathan-Duthoit-1803-85-254x300.jpg"},{"ID":824,"post_content":"The Duval family have had a leading role in the governance of the French Hospital for many generations. David Duval (1751-1836) was elected a director of the French Hospital on 12th July 1786. He went on to serve as a director for fifty years and as deputy governor from 1813-1836. David was born in Geneva to Pierre Duval and Sophie Marie Lagisse. In 1791 David married Ann Fidwell and together they had 7 children.\r\n\r\nStephen Duval became a director in 1883 and died in 1934, aged 86, after more than 50 years\u2019 service. Three of his children became directors and he is Great-Grandfather of the current French Hospital Deputy Governor Peter Duval.\r\n\r\nSince David Duval was first elected director 6 Duvals have succeeded him.","post_title":"Duval","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"duval","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:08:59","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:08:59","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.171-Philip-Smith-Duval.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.171-Philip-Smith-Duval-225x300.jpg"},{"ID":826,"post_content":"The Fasquest family lived in Dr\u00f4me and hid their faith. Family story tells that during a search of their home this bible was baked in a loaf of bread to hide it from state soldiers. The title page has been removed to conceal the printer\u2019s identity. The pages also list a record of family births, marriages and death until 1625.","post_title":"Fasquest","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"fasquest","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:23:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:23:43","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Fasquest-Bible.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Fasquest-Bible-300x200.jpg"},{"ID":828,"post_content":"One of the earliest records we have for the Fenhoulet family is to Lewis and Charlotte Fenhoulet who were naturalised on 22nd December 1707. Jacques (James) Fenoulhet, one of their descendants was made a director of the French Hospital in 1795.\r\n\r\nWe also have records for various branches of the Fenhoulet family. Amongst the members are Anne Fenoulhet, who was an apprentice watch chain maker in 1718 and Sir Peter Fenhoulet (1706-74).\r\n\r\nSir Peter Fenhoulet married Anne in 1761. She became Lady Fenhoulet but separated from Peter and moved to Calais in France with her two daughters.","post_title":"Fenhoulet","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"fenhoulet","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:22:56","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:22:56","categories":"Clock and Watchmaking, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.1351-1024x932.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.1351-300x273.jpg"},{"ID":830,"post_content":"Raymond Gaches came from the Languedoc region of France and was the son of a judge. Raymond became a Huguenot minister at Charenton in 1654 and stayed minister there until 1660. Whilst at Charenton it was his duty to look after the English and other Protestants residing in France.\r\n\r\nWhen Raymond came across to England he was able to help the French Protestant community to adapt to Anglican worship and life in a new country. Gaches eventually became vicar of Barking in Essex where he lived with his wife Marie.","post_title":"Gaches","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"gaches","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:12:28","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:12:28","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.052-Raymond-Gaches-710x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.052-Raymond-Gaches-208x300.jpg"},{"ID":832,"post_content":"Aym\u00e9 Garnault (1717-1782) came from a family of goldsmiths and jewellery makers. His father, Pierre, was a goldsmith who came to England from Ch\u00e2tellerault (Poitou, France) as a Huguenot refugee. Aym\u00e9 was treasurer of the New River Company, founded by James I to supply water to the City of London. He lived at Lincoln\u2019s Inn Fields with his wife, Sarah Arnold (1718-1790). Both Aym\u00e9 and his father became directors of the French Hospital.\r\n\r\nFrancisca Garnault (d 1809) was Aym\u00e9\u2019s eldest daughter. She married Peter Ouvry<\/span><\/strong><\/a> and together they had seven children. Their surviving children married out of the community and went into a variety of different professions.\r\n\r\nAym\u00e9\u2019s brother was Michael Garnault (d 1746). Michael worked as a jeweller of St Peter Le Poor, in the City of London. Michael lived in Enfield with his wife Anee Piozet, also of Huguenot descent. Michael\u2019s customers included the 2nd Duke of Bedford.","post_title":"Garnault","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"garnault","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:14:35","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:14:35","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Gold and Silversmithing, Jewellery Makers","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.386.01-02-Ayme-Garnault.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.386.01-02-Ayme-Garnault-251x300.jpg"},{"ID":834,"post_content":"The Garnier family came from Vitry, Champagne. Isaac Garnier (1631-1712) was born there and went on to study medicine and chemistry. However, because he was a protestant he was denied his apothecary\u2019s diploma. In 1685 he fled to England where he became Apothecary General to Chelsea Hospital. His eldest son, also Isaac (1671-1736) followed in his father\u2019s footsteps and became Apothecary General to the same Hospital in 1692.\r\n\r\nAnother member of the Garnier family settled in London. Daniel Garner was a goldsmith in London in around 1696. Other members of the Garnier family appear to have lived in Lisbon, Portugal. James, Samuel and Daniel were large woollen and cotton importers. They suffered under the Portuguese Government on account of not being English citizens. However, in 1718 they were able to prove that they had been naturalised in 1687 and were able to enjoy the same rights as English living in Portugal.\r\n\r\nA Gedean Garnier came to England with his wife, Elizabeth, and their four children (Gedeon, Jean, Elizabeth and Isabelle). They appear in the records of the Huguenot Church of London on 12th June 1698. This branch of the Garnier family sought pardon for having reneged on their Protestant religion and attending Catholic Mass. They lived in the parish of St Jean, Spitalfields.","post_title":"Garnier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"garnier","post_modified":"2015-07-23 15:21:31","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 15:21:31","categories":"Gold and Silversmithing, Medicine","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Geo-Garnier-JPEG-819x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Geo-Garnier-JPEG-240x300.jpg"},{"ID":836,"post_content":"Jacques de Gastigny fought alongside King William III at the Battle of the Boyne in 1690, just months after he gained British citizenship. He was also a member of the French Committee responsible for distributing the Royal Bounty to Huguenot refugees. In his will he left \u00a31,000 to establish the French Hospital, \u00a3500 to build apartments in the pest-house and \u00a3500 to fund beds, linens and clothes. The executor of his will was Philippe M<\/span><\/strong>\u00e9<\/span><\/strong>nard<\/span><\/strong><\/a>.\r\n\r\nMatthieu de Gastigny was amongst a number of Huguenots who presented a petition to the House of Commons on the 23rd February, 1710. This petition set out: \"that the French King had made several Edicts, Decrees, and Declarations, whereby all the French Protestants who had fled for refuge into her Majesty's dominions, on account of their Religion, were declared and adjudged to be outlawed, and to have forfeited their goods and estates,and excluded from claiming and enjoying any inheritance in France\u201d. As a result of the petition a Bill was ordered to be brought in, however it was soon dropped as it appeared that many Huguenots received better remittances of money from their relations in France than this bill would have allowed.","post_title":"Gastigny","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"gastigny","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:15:48","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:15:48","categories":"French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.002-Jacques-de-Gastigny-837x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.002-Jacques-de-Gastigny-245x300.jpg"},{"ID":838,"post_content":"Pierre Gaussen was one of the first treasurers of the French Hospital. In 1756 he was made deputy governor.","post_title":"Gaussen","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"gaussen","post_modified":"2015-04-27 13:51:40","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 13:51:40","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Pierre-Gaussen.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Pierre-Gaussen-276x300.jpg"},{"ID":840,"post_content":"Richard Herv\u00e9 Giraud was director of the French Hospital and the first Worshipful Master of the Huguenot Lodge. This masonic lodge (No. 2140) was intended to attract members of Huguenot families.\r\n\r\nRichard descended from Thomas Herv\u00e9<\/a> <\/u><\/strong>the pastor who was immortalised by Hogarth in Noon<\/em>. Richard was also one of the three French Hospital directors responsible for the purchase of the Victoria Park site where the Hospital was based for a number of years.\r\n\r\nAn earlier ancestor, Elisee Giraud was among the \u2018six protestant martyrs\u2019. These were pastors who left France on the Revocation but returned several years later to minister to the Huguenots who remained in France. They were imprisoned at Fort Real on the Isle of St Marguerite, which became a prison for Protestant pastors from 1689.","post_title":"Giraud","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"giraud","post_modified":"2015-04-27 13:54:12","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 13:54:12","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.005-Richard-Herve-Giraud-853x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.005-Richard-Herve-Giraud-250x300.jpg"},{"ID":843,"post_content":"Jean Gosset was a Huguenot who settled in St Helier, Jersey. His son, Issac Gosset (1713-1799), came to London where he was raised by his uncle Matthew who was a wax-modeller. Issac learnt the trade from Matthew and became one of the best wax modellers of the 1700s. He was known as \u2018Ingenious Mr Gosset\u2019. In 1773 he was made a Director of the Society of Arts.\r\n\r\nIssac had five brothers: John, Abraham, Jacob, Pierre and Gedeon. Gedeon (or Gideon) worked with Isaac as a carver and gilder. He only had one son, the Reverend Isaac Gosset to whom he passed on his secret recipe for his wax medallions. This recipe was never passed on. Issac, Gedeon and Jacob all became directors of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Gosset","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"gosset","post_modified":"2015-04-27 13:55:18","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 13:55:18","categories":"Artists, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.391-George-II-by-Isaac-Gosset.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.391-George-II-by-Isaac-Gosset-259x300.jpg"},{"ID":1102,"post_content":"The Gravelle family was believed to have arrived in England during the reign of Charles II. They were carvers and guilders and based themselves in London.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Gravelle","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"gravelle","post_modified":"2015-07-25 10:46:26","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-25 10:46:26","categories":"Artists","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":845,"post_content":"Richard Grellier (1801-1863) was the son of Peter Paul Grellier (1773-1828), who became a director of the French Hospital in 1820. His grandfather was Leonard Turquand who had also been director. Richard was elected director in 1837, continuing the family tradition and worked\u00a0as surveyor to the French Hospital for 25 years. Richard married Louisa Andr\u00e9 <\/u><\/strong>i<\/a>n 1856.\r\n\r\nThe Grellier family had been one of the great Huguenot silk families during the 1740s and 1750s. Duthoit<\/a><\/strong>, Ouvry<\/a><\/strong> and Vansommer<\/a><\/strong> were amongst the families they were connected with. Another later Grellier, William (1847-1934) became an architect and was responsible for drawing sections of the French Church on Threadneedle Street, London.\r\n\r\nThe Grellier family continue to play a part in the running of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Grellier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"grellier","post_modified":"2015-05-15 07:57:58","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 07:57:58","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.181-Richard-Grellier-2.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.181-Richard-Grellier-2-232x300.jpg"},{"ID":847,"post_content":"Lady Jane Franklin (1792 \u2013 1875) was daughter of Jean Griffin (a director of the French Hospital) and Jane, daughter of Jean Guillemard (also a director of the French Hospital). \u00a0Jean was a silk-weaver based in Spitalfields. Jane had two sisters Francis and Mary, Francis went on to marry Ashurst Majendie.<\/a><\/u><\/strong>\r\n\r\nIn 1828 Jane married Sir John Franklin, the famous explorer who went missing with his entire crew on an arctic expedition. Jane campaigned to discover the fate of her husband, his crew and the ships Erebus<\/em> and Terror<\/em>. Jane was later awarded the Royal Geographical Society's Founder's Medal for her contribution to the exploration of the Canadian Arctic.","post_title":"Griffin","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"griffin","post_modified":"2015-04-27 14:57:08","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 14:57:08","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.109-2-1024x977.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.109-2-300x286.jpg"},{"ID":849,"post_content":"Jean-Henri Guinand was director and deputy-governor of the French Hospital. In 1742 he carried out an inventory of the hospital. This inventory provides an invaluable insight into the way of life of the inmates, staff and directors of the French Hospital.\r\n\r\nJean-Henri arrived in England in 1713 from Geneva. He was an active director and was a deacon to the French Protestant Church of London in Threadneedle Street. Jean-Henri was also responsible for raising large amounts of money for the almshouses. He was originally a merchant and his family ancestors are recorded as coming from Besan\u00e7on. His descendants also appear on the Huguenot pedigree of Their Royal Highnesses Princes William and Henry!","post_title":"Guinand","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"guinand","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:00:26","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:00:26","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital, Merchants and traders","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.054-Jean-Henri-Guinand.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.054-Jean-Henri-Guinand-242x300.jpg"},{"ID":1088,"post_content":"The Hanchard (Hennechart) family came to London via the Netherlands. The first time the family are recorded in English records is in 1704 at a marriage in London.\r\n\r\nThe family married into the Dupont<\/a>, Baudemonts and Gauson families.\r\n\r\nThe Hanchard family were all either silk weavers or associated with the trade.\r\n\r\nA visitor to the Huguenot Museum recorded that one of her ancestors was Claudius Andre Duchesne who came to England in 1693. He was famous in Paris as a clockmaker and a mantel clock by Duchesne is now in the British Museum.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Hanchard","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"hanchard","post_modified":"2015-07-23 13:57:32","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 13:57:32","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":853,"post_content":"The Reverend Thomas Herv\u00e9 was born between 1648 and 1688. As a younger man Thomas was a Capuchin Friar at La Rochelle where we persecuted the protestants. After reading some of the Huguenot books he confiscated. Thomas converted to protestantism and escaped to Holland. Between 1727 to 1731 he came to London where he became a member of the French Church and in 1758 was appointed minister of the Royal French Chapel where he became French tutor to the Royal Princesses.\r\n\r\nThomas married Elizabeth Gagnon and they lived together in Faversham, Kent. They had one daughter, Jane Elizabeth who married the Reverend Francis Frederick Giraud<\/u><\/strong>.<\/a>\r\n\r\nThomas was immortalised by the artist Hogarth who depicted him in his print Noon<\/em>.","post_title":"Herve","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"herve","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:01:20","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:01:20","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Revd-Thomas-Herve.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Revd-Thomas-Herve-236x300.jpg"},{"ID":855,"post_content":"Sir John Houblon (1632-1711) was the first Governor of the Bank of England. He came from a merchant family who traded with France, Portugal, Spain and the Mediterranean. James Houblon, his father, was the son of a Huguenot refugee from Lille. His mother was Mary, daughter of Jean du Quesne (a colleague of James\u2019 and a fellow Huguenot). One of John\u2019s brothers was also a good friend of Samuel Pepys.\r\n\r\nSir John was Lord Mayor of London, Governor of the Bank of England, Admiralty Commissioner and Master of the Grocer\u2019s Company.","post_title":"Houblon","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"houblon","post_modified":"2015-04-27 14:37:49","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 14:37:49","categories":"Banking and Finance, Merchants and traders","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/b377_378_379_385_404_houblon_.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/b377_378_379_385_404_houblon_-261x300.jpg"},{"ID":856,"post_content":"David Hubert was a founder of the French Protestant Charity School at Westminster. His family were members of the Threadneedle Street Church in London and lived in the Strand.\r\n\r\nThe Westminster French Charity School was founded in 1747 specifically for the descendants of Huguenot refugees.","post_title":"Hubert","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"hubert","post_modified":"2015-04-28 11:11:49","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 11:11:49","categories":"Churches, Education","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.055-David-Hubert-820x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.055-David-Hubert-240x300.jpg"},{"ID":860,"post_content":"Francis Jolit (1754-1836) worked as an undertaker and was responsible for many Huguenot funerals. Including that of Sarah Symons.\r\n\r\nSarah was\u00a0a resident of the French Hospital, whose grandfather was the silk weaver Charles Gentil, was buried by Francis.\u00a0Francis was also a director of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Jolit","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"jolit","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:03:38","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:03:38","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.079-Francis-Jolit.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.079-Francis-Jolit-229x300.jpg"},{"ID":862,"post_content":"George Lambert was not only a director of the French Hospital but was also a successful goldsmith. He employed around 22 apprentices in his thriving goldsmith and jewellery business in London.\r\n\r\nIn 1887 George became Prime Warden of the Goldsmiths\u2019 Company. He also became a liveryman of the Horners\u2019, Glovers\u2019, Tinplate Workers\u2019, Gold and Silver Wyre Drawers\u2019, Gardeners\u2019 and Pattenmakers\u2019 Companies.","post_title":"Lambert","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"lambert","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:04:24","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:04:24","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Gold and Silversmithing","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-George-Lambert.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-George-Lambert-217x300.jpg"},{"ID":1094,"post_content":"Philippe Larcher was born in La Mothe, Poitou in 1676. He fled to France where he settled in Soho, London, later moving to Wandsworth as a felt and hat maker.\r\n\r\nPhillipe married Marie Brossard and died in 1743.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Larcher","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"larcher","post_modified":"2015-07-23 15:01:17","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 15:01:17","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":866,"post_content":"Sir Henry Austen Layard (1817-1894) was an archaeologist, collector and politician. Henry served as ambassador to the Sublime Porte, was a director of the French Hospital, was a first President of the Huguenot Society and also was a trustee of the National Gallery. However, Henry is\u00a0best remembered for his excavations at Nineveh in the 1840s and it was thanks to his investigations that the British Museum became a centre for cuneiform studies.\r\n\r\nHenry\u2019s great-grandfather Daniel Peter Layard was physician to the Middlesex Hospital.","post_title":"Layard","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"layard","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:05:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:05:43","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Huguenot Society","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Henry-Austen-Layard-835x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Henry-Austen-Layard-245x300.jpg"},{"ID":1091,"post_content":"A visitor to the Huguenot Museum married into the Huguenot family of Le Beau. They have traced the Le Beau family back to Haarlem in Holland where they were lace makers. By the 20th<\/sup> century the family had become rope makers in the East End of London.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Le Beau","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"le-beau","post_modified":"2015-07-23 14:23:46","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 14:23:46","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":868,"post_content":"William Le Fanu lived with his wife Henriette (1709-1789) in Ireland. Henriette came from the Raboteau family and her portrait (by Philip Mercier) sits in the City Art Gallery, York. Their descendent William Le Fanu worked with Charles Mamoy in the 1970s to revive the French Hospital as the home of Huguenot treasures.\r\n\r\nAnother descendent, TP Le Fanu was a Huguenot historian whose work was consulted by Henry Wagner<\/a><\/u><\/strong> to create his Huguenot pedigrees.\r\n\r\nPerhaps the most famous member of the family was Joseph Thomas Sheridan Le Fanu (1814 \u20131873). Joseph was a writer of Gothic tales and mystery novels and became the leading ghost-story writer of the nineteenth century.","post_title":"Le Fanu","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"le-fanu","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:07:07","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:07:07","categories":"French Hospital, Publishing","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-William-Richard-Le-Fanu-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-William-Richard-Le-Fanu-small-255x300.jpg"},{"ID":870,"post_content":"Peter Le Heup (1699-1777) was a banker and the son of one of the original French Hospital directors. He became under clerk to the Treasury in 1721. Just a year later he married Clara Lowndes, daughter of the Secretary of the Treasury. By 1752 he was Chief Clerk and Director of Government Lotteries. The House of Commons Committee uncovered irregularities in the sale of lottery tickets to fund the British Museum. Peter was found guilty, fined \u00a31000 and dismissed from his post.\r\n\r\nA Marie Le Heup was a resident in the French Hospital. In 1739 her husband Edward Le Heup wrote to the directors in July. He begged them to prevent his wife from leaving the hospital as \u201cher demented state made his life intolerable\u201d. One of the witnesses to this case was another Edward Le Heup, a weaver of the parish of Christ Church, Spitalfields.","post_title":"Le Heup","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"le-heup","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:07:33","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:07:33","categories":"Banking and Finance, Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.133-Peter-Le-Heup.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.133-Peter-Le-Heup-300x283.jpg"},{"ID":872,"post_content":"Michel Le Mann was a director of the French Hospital in 1818. We are currently still researching his family.\u00a0Come back soon to see our research!","post_title":"Le Mann","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"le-mann","post_modified":"2015-04-29 10:29:19","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 10:29:19","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.089-Michel-Le-Mann-859x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.089-Michel-Le-Mann-252x300.jpg"},{"ID":874,"post_content":"The Lichigaray family descend from Samuel Peter Lichigary who came to Exeter from Orthes in the Pyrenees. Samuel married a lady from Tiverton and their son, also Samuel, became a director of the French Hospital.\r\n\r\nThe Lichigaray book plate, shown here, uses the wreath and ribbon design which was typical of the period 1775-1800.","post_title":"Lichigaray","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"lichigaray","post_modified":"2015-04-29 10:36:07","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 10:36:07","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Lichigaray-JPEG-793x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Lichigaray-JPEG-232x300.jpg"},{"ID":876,"post_content":"Jean Louis Ligonier (1680-1770) was the son of Louis de Ligonier of Castres. Jean Louis escaped France at the age of 17 under a different name and reached Dublin in 1697. Jean Louis joined the British Army where he was well respected and eventually became Commander-in-Chief of the British Army. Between 1738 and 1747 he fought against the French in the Seven Years War. By the end of his career he had risen to Field-Marshal Earl Ligonier.\r\n\r\nJean Louis also became governor of the French Hospital from 1748 to 1770 and he gifted his equestrian portrait (pictured here) to the Hospital in 1752.","post_title":"Ligonier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"ligonier","post_modified":"2015-04-28 11:54:28","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 11:54:28","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.050-Sir-Jean-Louis-Ligonier.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.050-Sir-Jean-Louis-Ligonier-244x300.jpg"},{"ID":880,"post_content":"Revered Jean Jacques Majendie (1709-1783) was son of Andre de Majendie, a Huguenot who escaped from France and settled in Exeter in 1700. Jean Jacques (or James John) became pastor of the French Church of the Savoy and was also a French tutor to Queen Charlotte and her sons. In 1774 he was appointed cannon of Windsor.\r\n\r\nDespite living in England Jean Jacques gave aid to the churches in Piedmont and assisted in the relief of French and Hungarian Protestants.\r\n\r\nJean Jacques married Elizabeth Prevost<\/u> <\/strong><\/a>in 1753 and together they had three children; Henry William, Lewis and Susannah. Lewis Majendie (1756-1833) became a military man with the 15th<\/sup> Light Dragoons. He married Elizabeth Hoghton in 1783 and they had five children. Lewis was a founder member of the Linnaean Society and was heavily involved in the development of Agriculture in Essex.\r\n\r\nAshurst Majendie (1784-1867) was the eldest son of Lewis. Not only a director of French Hospital, Ashurst was also instrumental in the foundation of the Geological Society. In 1832 Ashurst was appointed as one of the Assistant Poor Law Commissioners and was a Deputy-Lieutenant for the county and a justice of the peace. Ashurst married Frances Griffin<\/a><\/u><\/strong> in 1831, the eldest daughter and co-heir of John (Jean) Griffin<\/a><\/u><\/strong> and sister to Lady Jane Franklin<\/a><\/u><\/strong>.","post_title":"Majendie","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"majendie","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:08:29","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:08:29","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jean-Jacques-Majendie-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jean-Jacques-Majendie-small-259x300.jpg"},{"ID":882,"post_content":"The Earl of Galway (1648-1720) was Henri de Massue de Ruvigny. Henri fought for the British Army at the Battle of the Boyne and founded the military refugee community at Portarlington. Henri also gave an address on behalf of the Huguenot community to King George I, congratulating him on establishing the Protestant succession.","post_title":"Massue","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"massue","post_modified":"2015-04-29 10:53:05","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 10:53:05","categories":"Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.001-Henri-de-Massue-757x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.001-Henri-de-Massue-222x300.jpg"},{"ID":884,"post_content":"The Reverend Joseph Claude Meffre (1766-1845) was originally a Catholic priest living in Toulon. Joseph fled to England following the French Revolution in 1794. He joined the Church of England following a public scandal in Salisbury. From 1826 to 1847 Joseph served as the last French speaking chaplain of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Meffre","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"meffre","post_modified":"2015-04-29 11:00:12","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 11:00:12","categories":"Churches, French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.004-Revd-Joseph-Claude-Meffre.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.004-Revd-Joseph-Claude-Meffre-231x300.jpg"},{"ID":887,"post_content":"Philippe M\u00e9nard was the executor of Gastingy\u2019s will and the driving force behind the founding of the French Hospital. He launched the first public appeal for funds in 1718 and as the first chaplain gave the opening sermon. He was also secretary of the French Hospital from its founding until his death in 1737.\r\n\r\nPhilippe had been a minister in France at the Protestant Temple of Saints before being exiled. After this date he first served as Chaplain to Queen Charlotte Amelia of Denmark before moving to London to the French Chapel Royal in 1700.\r\n\r\nPhilippe\u2019s brother Jean arrived in England before him. Jean served as canon of Windsor having been minister at the great Huguenot temple of Charenton outside of Paris. Jean donated \u00a3150 (the largest single donation) to the original appeal for the creation of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Menard","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"menard","post_modified":"2015-04-28 12:04:10","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 12:04:10","categories":"Churches, French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.056-Philippe-M\u00e9nard.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.056-Philippe-M\u00e9nard-223x300.jpg"},{"ID":889,"post_content":"Isaac Minet (1660-1745) was the son of a grocer in Calais. After the revocation of the Edict of Nantes Isaac and his mother hid in the house of a Dutch shopkeeper but on attempting to escape they were captured, imprisoned and forced to abjure their faith.\r\n\r\nIsaac\u2019s brother Stephen was already in England and between them they arranged for a boat to take Isaac, his mother, his brother Ambrose and his sister to escape. After his successful escape to England Isaac fasted every 1 August in memory of his ordeal.\r\n\r\nIsaac settled in Dover and helped to set up the family bank there in 1690. Hughes, Isaac\u2019s grandson joined the family business, by which time there was also a London branch. In 1767 Hughes sold the bank to a company called Fectors. The deal was settled on 21 February 1767 in Rochester. Minet & Fectors bank eventually became part of the Royal Bank of Scotland.\r\n\r\nIsaac had another grandson Daniel. This son was orphaned at the age of 14 and was adopted by his uncle William Minet. Daniel did not follow into the banking profession, instead becoming\u00a0Surveyor of Customs. He was described as \u2018a gentleman well versed in the history and antiquities of this Kingdom\u2019.","post_title":"Minet","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"minet","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:09:20","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:09:20","categories":"Banking and Finance","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Issac-Minet.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Issac-Minet-245x300.jpg"},{"ID":891,"post_content":"Colonel Louis Montolieu was lieutenant-colonel of the 2nd<\/sup> Troop of Horse Guards and became a director of the French Hospital in 1759. His son, Louis (c. 1761-1822), married Elizabeth Le Heup<\/a><\/u><\/strong>, daughter of Peter and Clara Le Heup<\/u><\/strong> <\/a>and became baron de Saint-Hippolyte. His painting is shown here.\r\n\r\nThe Monolieu family continued to have ties to the French Hospital. Jacques and Charles Molinier, Louis\u2019 uncles on his mother\u2019s side, were French Hospital Directors. Another descendent, David Montolieu, sold a necklace of forty-seven pearls (gifted by Mademoiselle de la Croix) to raise money for the French Hospital.","post_title":"Montolieu","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"montolieu","post_modified":"2015-04-29 11:19:02","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 11:19:02","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.088-Louis-Montolieu-3.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.088-Louis-Montolieu-3-250x300.jpg"},{"ID":893,"post_content":"The Norris family originally owned the Victoria Park site where the French Hospital was based for some time. They had held this land in their family for two hundred years before selling it to the French Hospital for \u00a31600 per acre.\r\n\r\nThe Norris family traced their Huguenot routes through the Du Quesne (or Du Cane) family. A Du Cane was the agent for Henry Norris during the sale of Victoria Park. Another member of the family was the Reverend Henry Norris, pictured here.","post_title":"Norris","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"norris","post_modified":"2015-04-29 11:25:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 11:25:43","categories":"French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Rev-Henry-Norris-671x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Rev-Henry-Norris-196x300.jpg"},{"ID":895,"post_content":"The Ogier family originally came from Chassais L'Eglise in Bas Poitou. In 1700 the Ogier family came to London. Pierre Ogier (1711-1775) was a member of this family, who became master weaver in Spitalfields. Pierre was apprenticed to Daniel Gobbee before taking over his father\u2019s business. He bought a number of silk designs from Anna Maria Garthwaite and also went into partnership with John Vansommer<\/a>.<\/u> Pierre became a Director of the French Hospital in 1761.\r\n\r\nPierre\u2019s junior partner, Charles Triquet, joined Pierre and his brothers in giving evidence to denounce merchants who were wanting to import French silks. For a time the Ogier family dominated the Weaver\u2019s Company.\r\n\r\nPierre\u2019s younger sister Louisa married the goldsmith Samuel Courtauld. After Samuel\u2019s death Louisa carried on her husband's business but later returned\u00a0to silk weaving, her family trade. The Ogiers were connected with a number of Huguenot silk families including the Duthoits<\/a>\u00a0and Grelliers<\/a> as well as the Courtaulds and Vansommers.<\/a>\r\n\r\nMatilda (1768-1841) was the daughter of Sarah Ogier and Joseph Stansbury, a wealthy importer. She was born in Philadelphia and lived there with her parents and younger sister Lydia Philadelphia during the American Revolutionary War. She came to England in 1773 to attend Madame Laborde\u2019s school for young ladies in Hackney. She eventually settled in England and married","post_title":"Ogier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"ogier","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:11:38","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:11:38","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.084-Pierre-Ogier.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.084-Pierre-Ogier-252x300.jpg"},{"ID":897,"post_content":"Pierre Oliver (or Olivier) was a Huguenot goldsmith who came to London in 1568 with his son Isaac Oliver (d. 1617). Isaac became a pupil of Nicholas Hilliard the greatest limner (painter of ornamental decoration) of his day. He went on to become an accomplished miniature painter.\r\n\r\nA later descendent, John Oliver, was a silk weaver in Spitalfields.\r\n\r\nDaniel Olivier (1722-1782) was a director of the French Hospital. He was descended from the Revered Joudain Olivier of Pau and was married to Sussannah Mass\u00e9. His coat of arms shown here are combined with those of the Daubuz<\/a> family (the three acorns). Although other historians suggest they also reflect the coat of arms of the Mass\u00e9 family.","post_title":"Olivier","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"olivier","post_modified":"2015-04-29 11:41:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 11:41:43","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Gold and Silversmithing, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Daniel-Olivier-789x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-Daniel-Olivier-231x300.jpg"},{"ID":899,"post_content":"The Ouvry family were one of the largest silk weaving families in London. James Ouvry came to England from France around 1683 with his wife Mary. He died in 1748 and left money to his son John Ouvry (1707-1774). John was probably apprenticed to Thomas Philpot and he became a freeman of the Weavers Company in 1738. John bought some of his designs from the famous Anna Maria Garthwaite. John married twice and had one son, Peter, who followed his father into the profession.\r\n\r\nPeter married Francisca Garnault<\/a><\/u><\/strong>, eldest daughter of Aim\u00e9 Garnault<\/a><\/u><\/strong> and together they had seven children. Peter Aim\u00e9 was the eldest surviving son.\r\n\r\nSarah Mary Ouvry (1822-1898), whose portrait is\u00a0pictured here,\u00a0was the daughter of Peter Aym\u00e9 and his wife Sarah. Her brother, Frederic Ouvry (1814-1881) was a lawyer and antiquary whose clients included Charles Dickens. Frederic acted for him during his separation from his wife Catherine. Charles Dickens depicted Frederic in his weekly magazine Household Words as Mr Undery.\r\n\r\nSarah Mary married Francis Sibson, an English physician and anatomist who treated cholera patients during the 1831-32 epidemic.","post_title":"Ouvry","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"ouvry","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:13:09","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:13:09","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.385-887x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.385-260x300.jpg"},{"ID":901,"post_content":"We are still researching the Peaston family. Come back soon to see our research!","post_title":"Peaston","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"peaston","post_modified":"2015-04-24 12:47:50","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 12:47:50","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.247-silver-salver-by-william-peaston-1754.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.247-silver-salver-by-william-peaston-1754-300x176.jpg"},{"ID":903,"post_content":"The Pechell family were a military family. Samuel de P\u00e9chels (Sieur de la Boissonade) fought with the British Army in Ireland. His son was Lieutenant-Colonel Jacob de P\u00e9chels and his grandson Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Paul Pechell. The military dynasty continued with Major-General Sir Thomas Brooke Pechell, Rear-Admiral Sir Samuel Pechell and Sir George Richard Brooke Pechell.","post_title":"Pechell","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"pechell","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:16:07","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:16:07","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Sir-Paul-Pechell-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Sir-Paul-Pechell-small-267x300.jpg"},{"ID":905,"post_content":"The Peek family trace their Huguenot descent through the Le Maitre Family. The Le Maitres originally came from Dieppe and married into the Peek family in the 1800s.\r\n\r\nSir Henry William Peek (d.1898) was director and deputy governor of the French Hospital and was a founder member of the Huguenot Society. He collected a vast number of portraits of earlier directors of the French Hospital. Together with AH Browning<\/a><\/strong> he purchased the portraits of Sir John Ligonier<\/a><\/u> <\/strong>and Lieutenant-General Louis de Jean<\/a><\/u><\/strong> in 1885. Sir Henry was also instrumental in saving Epping Forest from development.\r\n\r\nHenry\u2019s son, Sir Cuthbert Peek, presented two gold badges to the French Hospital for the posts of governor and deputy-governor. He did this in memory of his father.","post_title":"Peek","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"peek","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:16:33","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:16:33","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital, Huguenot Society","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Henry-William-Peek.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-Henry-William-Peek-244x300.jpg"},{"ID":1085,"post_content":"Phillis (originally Phillais?)\r\n\r\nThe Phillis family were silk weavers based in Draycott near Shepton Mallett, Somerset. Earliest record, death of Richard Phillis (d. 1675).\r\n\r\nThe family remained in the area until the early 19th<\/sup> century when they dispersed and many took up new occupations.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with\u00a0the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors. <\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Phillis","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"phillis","post_modified":"2015-07-23 13:50:43","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 13:50:43","categories":"Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":1090,"post_content":"Family research shows that John Pilon, born 1714 in Canterbury, changed the family name to Pillow.\r\n\r\nThe Pilons\/Pillows have left their mark all over the world and portraits of Edward and Ann are hanging in Historical Society Museum (New York). The Pilons also gave land and financial donations for a school to be built in Canterbury.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Pilon","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"pilon","post_modified":"2015-07-23 14:16:54","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 14:16:54","categories":"Education","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":1101,"post_content":"The Planche family were Huguenots and are first recorded in England with Albert Planche, born in Trevance, Cornwall in 1839. His father was James G Planche born in St Issy in 1814. The family later moved to Liverpool.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Planche","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"planche","post_modified":"2015-07-25 10:45:18","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-25 10:45:18","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":907,"post_content":"The Pleydell-Bouverie\u2019s are one of the most distinguished Huguenot families. Laurens des Bouverie was the first of the family to arrive in England where he settled in Sandwich with his wife. From here he set up his first silk factor in Canterbury.\r\n\r\nLauren\u2019s descendent, Jacob des Bouverie became the First Viscount Folkestone in 1747 and his son, William was created 1st Earl of Radnor in the 1700s. William married Harriet Pleydell and their son (also Jacob) became the first of a long line of Pleydell-Bouveries. Not only Earls, many of the Pleydell-Bouverie descendants also became Governors of the French Hospital.","post_title":"Pleydell-Bouverie","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"pleydell-bouverie","post_modified":"2015-04-28 14:27:55","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 14:27:55","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-William-Pleydell-Bouverie-5th-earl.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-William-Pleydell-Bouverie-5th-earl-235x300.jpg"},{"ID":909,"post_content":"Nicholas Prevost was a Huguenot publisher and bookseller who worked in the Strand, London. He worked for the Vaillant family<\/span><\/strong><\/a> and married their daughter Suzanne Vaillant<\/a>.<\/span><\/strong> One of the most notable books Nicholas published was a French translation of \u2018The Book of Common Prayer\u2019. We have a copy of this book in the Museum which belonged to the Ouvry<\/span><\/strong> <\/a>family.\r\n\r\nOther members of the Prevost family included George and John Prevost. This pair were weavers who migrated from Spitalfields to Leek in North Staffordshire. George returned to London but John remained in Leek. John\u2019s son, also called John, walked back to Spitalfields in search of a wife! After his journey he too returned to Leek.\r\n\r\nAnother branch of the Prevost family journeyed to America. Look behind you at the display of the christening gown to find out more!","post_title":"Prevost","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"prevost","post_modified":"2015-04-28 13:10:20","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 13:10:20","categories":"Publishing, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.099-21-1024x1018.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.099-21-300x298.jpg"},{"ID":1096,"post_content":"Michael Priest was a market gardener in Southwark. He married to a Copitt and their son, Samuel moved to Wandsworth were he kept cows and married a Sudell.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Priest","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"priest","post_modified":"2015-07-23 15:09:22","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 15:09:22","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":911,"post_content":"We are still researching the Pujolas family. Come back soon to see our research!","post_title":"Pujolas","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"pujolas","post_modified":"2015-04-24 12:51:02","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 12:51:02","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Moses-Pujolas.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Moses-Pujolas-266x300.jpg"},{"ID":913,"post_content":"We are still researching the Racine family. Come back soon to see our research!","post_title":"Racine","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"racine","post_modified":"2015-04-24 12:56:57","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-24 12:56:57","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jaques-Racine-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Jaques-Racine-small-199x300.jpg"},{"ID":915,"post_content":"We are still researching the Ribeaut\u00a0family. Come back soon to see our research!","post_title":"Ribeaut","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"ribeaut","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:21:06","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:21:06","categories":"","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.237.01-02-Communion-cups-by-Robert-hill-given-by-Rachel-Ribeaut-and-Stephen-Romilly-Copy.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.237.01-02-Communion-cups-by-Robert-hill-given-by-Rachel-Ribeaut-and-Stephen-Romilly-Copy-284x300.jpg"},{"ID":917,"post_content":"Stephen Romilly was born in Montpellier in 1684. In 1701 he went to Geneva where he met Jacques Saurin<\/a><\/u><\/strong> and together they made their way to England. Stephen settled in Hoxton, where he established a bleaching business and married Judith de Monsaillier. Together they had four sons. Sadly Stephen died in poverty in 1733.\r\n\r\nStephen and Judith\u2019s third son, Peter, became a prosperous jeweller in Soho. His son became the eminent lawyer Sir Samuel Romilly. Sir Samuel became Solicitor General and was one of the recognised leaders of the Chancery bar. He was also MP for Queenborough and was a director of the French Hospital.\r\n\r\nAs a lawyer Samuel was known as \u201ca man of mercy, reason and eloquence, he tackled with vigour the tendency of contemporary English criminal law to resort to the death penalty for trifling offences\u201d.","post_title":"Romilly","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"romilly","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:16:56","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:16:56","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Jewellery Makers, Law","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-P-Romilly-JPEG-676x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.117-P-Romilly-JPEG-198x300.jpg"},{"ID":1093,"post_content":"Jean Rondeau fled France to settle in Spitalfields, London. Born in Sedan, Ardennes (France), Jean died in Spitalfields in 1740. His son, Jean Roncdeau, was a Master Silkweaver in Spitalfields and later became Sexton of Christ Church, Spitalfields.\r\n\r\nThis information was shared with the Huguenot Museum by one of our visitors.<\/em>\r\n\r\nDo you have a Huguenot story? Share yours with the museum today.<\/em>","post_title":"Rondeau","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"rondeau","post_modified":"2015-07-23 14:52:13","post_modified_gmt":"2015-07-23 14:52:13","categories":"Churches, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":919,"post_content":"Robert Lewis Roumieu was an architect, director and treasurer of the French Hospital. The French Hospital building at Victoria Park, Hackney, was designed by him. A number of plans of the building were donated to the French Hospital by his son RS Roumieu.\r\n\r\nRS Roumieu also became a director of the French Hospital and their ancestor, Adam, had been a\u00a0steward of the Hospital in the mid-1700s.","post_title":"Roumieu","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"roumieu","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:17:31","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:17:31","categories":"Architecture, Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.114-Robert-Lewis-Roumieu.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.114-Robert-Lewis-Roumieu-233x300.jpg"},{"ID":921,"post_content":"The Sanxay family originated from Tonnay Boutonne. Daniel Sanxay\u2019s father, a Protestant minister, was a Huguenot refugee. Daniel followed in his father\u2019s footsteps and became an Anglican priest. He settled in Epsom where he married Jane Antrobus. Here, he became headmaster of the local school Cheam (the oldest private preparatory school in England).\r\n\r\nDaniel\u2019s son, James, took over the running of the school on his father\u2019s death. James\u2019 wife Catherine Firmin objected to the school so it was handed over to William Gilpin.\r\n\r\nJames\u2019 brother, Robert, was a druggist based in the Strand, London.","post_title":"Sanxay","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"sanxay","post_modified":"2015-08-01 11:59:25","post_modified_gmt":"2015-08-01 11:59:25","categories":"Churches, Education, Medicine","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-1024x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/07\/Huguenot-Museum-H-square2-300x300.jpg"},{"ID":923,"post_content":"Jacques Saurin originated from N\u00eemes. He travelled to England from Geneva with Stephen Romilly<\/a><\/u><\/strong>. When Jacques arrived in England he had not yet been \u2018received\u2019 into the ministry. This meant that Jacques could not practice as a minister until he was elected. In 1701, Jacques was elected and served for the next five years as minister of the French Church of London.\r\n\r\nSaurin left his position at the French Church of London\u00a0on grounds of ill health. From here he moved to the Netherlands, where he was greatly admired as a minister by the professors of the Genevan Academy.","post_title":"Saurin","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"saurin","post_modified":"2015-04-29 14:20:22","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 14:20:22","categories":"Churches","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.073-Revd-Jacques-Saurin.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.073-Revd-Jacques-Saurin-236x300.jpg"},{"ID":925,"post_content":"Charles John Shoppee (1823-1897) was an architect and surveyor. Charles built up an important library of architectural work, many of which have been donated to the Victoria and Albert Museum. Charles was a founder member of the London and Middlesex Archaeological Society. Charles assisted Browning<\/a><\/u><\/strong> and Henry Peek<\/a><\/u><\/strong> in forming the Huguenot Society. He was also a director of the French Hospital.\r\n\r\nCharles\u2019 great-grandfather was Jacques Chapuis. Jacques came from Condrieu, near Lyons and served in the French Army. He was taken prisoner at the Battle of Oudenarde and brought to England.","post_title":"Shoppee","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"shoppee","post_modified":"2015-05-15 08:17:47","post_modified_gmt":"2015-05-15 08:17:47","categories":"Architecture, Directors of the French Hospital, Huguenot Society, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Charles-John-Shoppee.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Charles-John-Shoppee-240x300.jpg"},{"ID":927,"post_content":"Sir John Silvester (1745-1822) was Recorder of the City of London. A Recorder would have recorded pleas in the court of the Lord Mayor of London and delivered their judgments. John was also a Fellow of the Royal Society and Society of Antiquaries. His father was Sir John Baptist Silvester (1914-1789) who was a physician for the French Hospital.","post_title":"Silvester","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"silvester","post_modified":"2015-04-29 11:54:18","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-29 11:54:18","categories":"French Hospital, Medicine","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-John-Silvester.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH00-Sir-John-Silvester-241x300.jpg"},{"ID":929,"post_content":"Henri de Saint-Colome was part of the original French Committee, led by Philippe M\u00e9n<\/span><\/strong>ard<\/span><\/strong><\/a> and the merchant Jaques Baudouin<\/span><\/strong><\/a>. They went on to become the first directors of the French Church, Henri de Saint-Colome was a minister of the Artillery church and a director of \u2018La Soupe\u2019. Henri was elected a director of the French Hospital in 1718.","post_title":"St Colome","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"st-colome","post_modified":"2015-04-28 14:41:37","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 14:41:37","categories":"Churches, Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Henry-de-St-Colome-small.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Henry-de-St-Colome-small-237x300.jpg"},{"ID":935,"post_content":"Lewis (Louis) De Tudert was one of the original directors of the French Hospital. On his death in 1739 he left bequests of \u00a3100 each to the French Hospital and the Spitalfields \u2018Soupe\u2019.\r\n\r\nLewis also gave \u00a350 to the original appeal for the French Hospital and acted as guarantor to \u2018inmates\u2019 of the Hospital. In 1719 Lewis acted as guarantor to Marie Vautier and in 1727 to Magdeleine Fauchet. He paid 2 shillings 6 pence per week for Marie\u2019s maintenance but did not contribute to the cost of her funeral. For Magdeleine Fauchet he made a weekly contribution of 1s 6d and 6s 3d towards the cost of her funeral in 1727.","post_title":"Tudert","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"tudert","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:22:32","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:22:32","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.238-Silver-Paten-Robert-Hill-gift-of-Louis-de-Tudert.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.238-Silver-Paten-Robert-Hill-gift-of-Louis-de-Tudert-300x257.jpg"},{"ID":937,"post_content":"Paul (1671-1739) and Isaac Vaillant (1679-1753) were the sons of Fran\u00e7ois Vaillant, a refugee from Saumur. Fran\u00e7ois had settled in 1686 in the Strand, London. Paul became a publisher and his son, also Paul (1716-1803) continued the family business. His daughter, Suzanne (1669-1749) married Nicholas Prevost <\/span><\/strong><\/a>(d. 1748) who also worked in the family bookshop.\r\n\r\nPaul the younger married Theodosia Whichcote (1735-1827) in 1760. Their children were Letitia Vaillant (1770-1852) who married Lt Col William Hutchinson and Frances Vaillant (1776-1845) who died unmarried.","post_title":"Vaillant","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"vaillant","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:22:58","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:22:58","categories":"Publishing","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.384-3-1024x961.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.384-3-300x281.jpg"},{"ID":939,"post_content":"Paul Van Sommer came to England and went on to become an engraver. He kept a print shop in Newport Street, near Leicesterfields London, in the 1690s and 1700s. His engravings included one of Israel Antoine Aufr<\/span><\/strong>\u00e8<\/span><\/strong><\/a>re<\/a>. <\/span><\/strong>\r\n\r\nPaul\u2019s son, John Van Sommer (1705-1774) was a silk designer living in Spitalfields. John was apprenticed to Joseph Danridge, the famous silk weaver and designer. After his apprenticeship John joined the firm of Peter Ogier<\/span><\/strong><\/a>. The pair were later joined by another Huguenot, Charles Triquet. The firm went through various name changes and from 1768 operated under the name \u2018Triquet, Vansommer & Chavany\u2019. The firm had a reputation for making lavish furnishing silks and velvets.\r\n\r\nWilliam Van Sommer, a later descendant became a member of the Huguenot Society of London in 1885.","post_title":"Van Sommer","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"van-sommer","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:23:28","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:23:28","categories":"Artists, Weaving and Textiles","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.137-Certificate-of-Huguenot-Society-belonged-to-William-Van-Sommer-739x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.137-Certificate-of-Huguenot-Society-belonged-to-William-Van-Sommer-216x300.jpg"},{"ID":941,"post_content":"The Vi\u00e7ouse family were an ancient Languedoc family. They fought in the Battle of Ivry in 1590 which was won by the Huguenots and were said to have been gifted a white plume by Henry of Navarre which now forms part of their family crest.\r\n\r\nGuy de Vi\u00e7ouse, baron de La Court, became a governor of the French Hospital and had been among the founding committee of the Hospital.","post_title":"Vicouse","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"vicouse","post_modified":"2015-04-28 14:38:50","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 14:38:50","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital, Military","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Guy-de-Vicouse-crop-925x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.123.01-50-Guy-de-Vicouse-crop-271x300.jpg"},{"ID":943,"post_content":"The Wagner family claim their Huguenot heritage through the Teulon family. Henry Wagner (1840-1926) was a major contributor of documentation to the Huguenot Library for which he amassed a collection of Huguenot wills, abstracts and pedigrees.\r\n\r\nHenry was elected as a director of the French Hospital in 1865 and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries in 1875. Further Wagner\u2019s became directors of the French Hospital; Orlando Henry Wagner was elected director in 1909 and Sir Anthony Richard Wagner in 1929.","post_title":"Wagner","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"wagner","post_modified":"2015-04-27 12:23:55","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-27 12:23:55","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.163-Henry-Wagner.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.163-Henry-Wagner-234x300.jpg"},{"ID":945,"post_content":"Frederick Winsor was a secretary and director of the French Hospital. His father, Friedrich Albrecht Winzer, founded the Gas Light and Coke Company in 1812.","post_title":"Winsor","post_excerpt":"","post_name":"winsor","post_modified":"2015-04-28 14:32:12","post_modified_gmt":"2015-04-28 14:32:12","categories":"Directors of the French Hospital","image":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.009-Frederic-Albert-Winsor-808x1024.jpg","thumbnail":"https:\/\/huguenotmuseum.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/FH2013.009-Frederic-Albert-Winsor-237x300.jpg"}]